Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory masthead Berkeley Lab masthead Berkeley Lab A-Z Index Berkeley Lab Phone Book Search ATAP Home
Wim Leemans, Division Director, ATAP Division Soren Prestemon, Division Deputy, Technology, ATAP Division Eric Esarey, Senior Scientific Advisor, ATAP Division Asmita Patel, Division Deputy, Operations, ATAP Division Martha Condon, Division Administrator, ATAP Division Olivia Wong, administrative support, ATAP Division Wes Tabler, administrative support, ATAP Division Sreela Sen, administrative support, ATAP Division Chris Georgiou, budget analyst, ATAP Division Patricia Thomas, EH&S Coordinator, ATAP Division Joe Chew, Technical Support and Outreach, ATAP Division Ina Reichel, Outreach Coordinator, ATAP Division Web site describing ATAP's Advanced Light Source Accelerator Physics program Web site describing ATAP's Center for Beam Physics Web site describing ATAP's Fusion Science and Ion Beam Technology Program Web site describing ATAP's Superconducting Magnet Program Web site describing ATAP's Berkeley Lab Laser Accelerator (BELLA) Center Web site describing ATAP's special projects, including Free Electron Laser research and development for LCLS-II as well as the Advanced Photoinjector Experiment or APEX David Robin, Program Head, ALS Accelerator Physics Tom Scarvie, Program Deputy, ALS Accelerator Physics John Byrd, Program Head, Center for Beam Physics Derun Li, Program Deputy, Center for Beam Physics Thomas Schenkel, Program Head, Fusion Science & Ion Beam Technology Peter Seidl, Program Deputy, Fusion Science & Ion Beam Technology Steve Gourlay, Program Head, Superconducting Magnets Dan Dietderich, Program Deputy, Superconducting Magnets Wim Leemans, Program Head, BELLA Center, and Director, ATAP Division Eric Esarey, Program Deputy, BELLA Center, and Senior Scientific Advisor, ATAP Division John Corlett, Program Head for LCLS-II, Special Projects Fernando Sannibale,  Program Head for Advanced Photoinjector Experiment, Special Projects

Laboratory Context

Within Berkeley Lab, ATAP works closely on technical matters and shares administrative support with two other organizations that depend on advanced accelerators: the Physics and Nuclear Science Divisions. An important contributor to the success of all three is the Engineering Division, a central technology resource for LBNL. Together these four divisions make up the Physical Sciences Directorate, under Associate Laboratory Director James Symons.

Our division was also the birthplace of the Advanced Light Source, which became an LBNL division in its own right, and we remain deeply involved with operations and upgrades of that national user facility.

Please consult the Laboratory's organization-chart page for further context and the latest official structure.


Accelerator Technology and Applied Physics Division
Building 71, Mailstop 259
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
1 Cyclotron Road, Berkeley, CA 94720 USA

+1 510.486.4843 voice
+1 510.486.7981 fax


ATAP Division Director: Wim Leemans,
Division Deputy, Operations: Asmita Patel,
Division Deputy, Technology: Soren Prestemon,
Senior Scientific Advisor: Eric Esarey,

To report website issues, contact Joe Chew,